View user roles (instructor)
As an instructor, you can view Möbius user roles through the Role Manager.
After accessing the Role Manager, you can select a user role to preview the details and privileges of each user role within your organization.
Each user in Möbius is assigned a system role.
System role — A user role that's assigned at the time of account creation and determines what privileges the user has in Möbius.
A user will be assigned a class role once they're enrolled into a class.
Class role — A user role that's assigned when a user enrolls into a class and only applies to the specific class that they've enrolled in.
Default user role — A user role that's ready-to-use with predefined details and privileges that comes preloaded in Möbius
The available default user roles available to most organizations are (in order of descending privileges):
Administrator
Instructor + create
Instructor
Proctor
Student
Guest
User roles are grouped into three categories based on different levels of available privileges (in order of descending privileges) within the Role Manager:
Administrator Roles — User roles in this category generally have full-access privileges within their organization (
Example— administrator role).Class Roles — User roles in this category generally have most privileges within a class but limited organization-wide access privileges (
Example— instructor and instructor + create roles).Student Roles — User roles in this category are limited to interaction with class content, management of their own user profile, and viewing of their own Gradebook (
Example— student and guest roles).
Access the Role Manager
To access the Role Manager to view the user roles within your organization:
Click System User Manager on the System Homepage.
Click Role Manager.
The default and custom roles for your organization are displayed on the Role Manager's main page. Click on a role name from the Role Manager to view the details and privileges for the selected role.
A read-only summary of the details and allowed privileges is displayed for the selected role. Click OK to return to the Role Manager's main page.
