Complete a proctored exam in Proctored Browser Mode
A proctored exam is a type of assignment that your instructor can create that requires authorization for you to start and/or submit your assignment attempt.
Your instructor can then configure your proctored exam to use Proctored Browser Mode for enhanced assignment integrity.
Proctored Browser Mode — A full-screen mode that detects when a student accesses a file, program, or website that's external to the active assignment attempt.
Recognize Proctored Browser Mode
There are several indicators that will allow you to recognize if your proctored exam is configured to use Proctored Browser Mode:
The activity pane on your Class Homepage shows the Proctored Browser tag.
After clicking to start the activity from the Class Homepage, you'll be navigated to the launch page that shows:
A. Proctored browser icon — Indicator icon to show that the proctored exam is configured to use Proctored Browser Mode.
B. Proctored browser warning message — Yellow warning message to inform you that this proctored exam uses Proctored Browser Mode.
Use Proctored Browser Mode
To complete a proctored exam with Proctored Browser Mode enabled:
Click Start on the activity's pane from the Class Homepage.
The proctored browser is initiated when you click (A) Request Authorization or (B) Start from the launch page to begin your attempt (depending on how your proctored exam is configured).
You're navigated into the proctored exam with the full-screen Proctored Browser Mode enabled.
Click Submit Assignment to submit your attempt and exit Proctored Browser Mode.
TIP: Some proctored exams are configured to require authorization for you to submit your attempt for grading. Check out the Receive proctor authorization section of the Complete a proctored exam help topic for information on receiving authorization to submit your attempt for grading.
NOTE: If you've left any of the questions in your assignment unanswered, you're notified and are able to complete them before submitting for grading and exiting the Proctored Browser Mode.
NOTE: If any of your responses include math syntax errors or other input not understood by Möbius, you're notified and are able to fix those specific answers before submitting for grading and exiting the Proctored Browser Mode.
IMPORTANT: If the full-screen Proctored Browser Mode is exited for a reason other than submitting the assignment (
Example— accidentally pressingEscon your keyboard, or accessing a window on a second monitor):You'll receive an on-screen message that the instructor has been notified of your exit from the full-screen mode and that re-authorization is required.
An email notification of the full-screen exit is sent to your instructor.
You must be re-authorized back into the assignment by a proctor or instructor by requesting an exception (check out Request an exception).
It's up to the discretion of the proctor or instructor as to whether they'll authorize your re-entry into your attempt. Any issues that you may have with this decision should be taken up with the proctor or your instructor.
Proctored Browser Mode is exited once your attempt is submitted.
